

Publication: WeekendPost (Classifieds-Geklassifiseerd)

Publication Date: 30 Sep 2017

Page: 15

AVE: 13172.15 Circulation: 16904

Part: 1 of 1

Madibaz set for sevens showdown

NELSON Mandela University are all set to host the sixth edition of the University Sport South Africa women's sevens rugby tournament today.

Former rugby manager Melissa Awu, who put forward the motion to present the tournament, said it was a great honour for the Port Elizabeth university and that everything was on track to stage a memorable event.

With defending champions University of Pretoria absent from the line-up, Awu said she expected an exciting showdown in which any one of the 14 teams could emerge victorious.

"With Tuks not in the running this year and many teams featuring national players, anyone could take this tournament," she said earlier this week.

Awu explained that the teams would be divided into four pools, with the winners of each qualifying for the semifinals of the one-day connectition.

one-day competition.

The Madibaz, along with Walter Sisulu University, have entered two teams each.

The hosts' first team, along with University of Johannesburg, Walter Sisulu B and University of Venda, make up Pool A. Their second team were drawn alongside



GREAT TEAMWORK: Nelson Mandela University hosts the sixth edition of the USSA sevens tournament today

University of Fort Hare and Walter Sisulu University A in Pool D.

Preparations to host the event started earlier this year and everything has gone well since then thanks to great teamwork from the local organising committee, coaches, students and USSA, according to Awu.

The tournament would offer valuable exposure for the growing sport of women's rugby, Awu said, confirming that the national selectors would be in attendance.

She said it was also a great experience for the university, which finished towards the bottom of the log last year.

The tournament, which takes place at the south campus, starts with the match between UJ and WSU at 8am, with the Madibaz next on at 8.20am.

The grand finale will be played at 5.20pm.



