

Publication: SundaySunGauteng (Sport)

Publication Date: 09 Apr 2017 Page: 26

AVE: 16841.37 Circulation: 77038 Part: 1 of 1

HE first 17 years of our version of the FA Cup was won by Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates 13 times

Chiefs won the title nine times and the Buccaneers four. Other teams that had also won this trophy include Mamelodi Sundowns, Bloemfontein Celtic and Bidvest Wits

Then, it was the Life Challenge from 1971 to 1975, the Benson & Hedges Cup from 1976 to 1977, and the forever popular Mainstay Cup from 1978 to 1987.

Celtic had the honour of being the only team from outside Gauteng to lift the trophy in 1985. Small clubs had never had

a major impact in the competition in the earlier

days of the FA cup. Teams like Seshego Stone Breakers, Leeds United, Commets and a few others tried, but it was clear they



would end nowhere in the competition

In 1988, the Bob Save Super Bowl was introduced and again clubs from Gauteng dominated, with only Santos, Cape Town Spurs and Black Aces from the Western Cape and Mpumalanga, respectively, being the alternative winners.

At this time, the winds of change were coming thick and fast in our football, with the PSL being launched in the 1996/97 season, when the Absa Cup came.

In 2003, Cape Town football was on the rise as Santos and Ajax took the trophy again, then the The Nedbank Cup was launched.

ROM 2008 – when Ke Yona started – the competition brought a breath of fresh air to football with its beautiful innovations.

The Ke Yona dream team created new opportunities for young boys. And on the field, was exciting.

In the first edition, first division side Aces beat all, but Mamelodi Sundowns in the finals. In 2008/9, AmaTuks beat record-holders Amakhosi en route to the finals, where they succumbed to the now-relegated Moroka Swallows

Leopards did the same in 2010/11, but they found Soweto giants Orlando Pirates in a buoyant mood.

Since the start of the Nedbank Cup, teams in the lower leagues have shown that all clubs are equal on the pitch.

Recently, we had Kwa Dukuza, who made waves until defending champions SuperSport United brought them down on Tuesday. So it's up to Mbombela United, Magesi and Acornbush United to see how far they can go.

It remains to be seen whether the lower league sides will win the trophy, or if PSL teams will show them what they are made of.



