Email us


The UP Arts Committees

The Heritage Committee

On 6 April 2009 the University launched the Heritage Committee as part of the fulfillment of the Corporate Policy for the University of Pretoria Heritage Collections that was approved by the Executive in October 2008. This Committee was established to advise all faculties and departments of the University, who possess extensive collections of different kinds, to professionally manage these collections. The Committee governs new acquisitions to the university, de-accessioning of collections as well as the funding for important collection management based projects. Collections of the Univeristy are vast and range from geological, archaeological, medical, faunal, floral, palaeontological, anthropological, archival and historical amongst others. It is essential that all univeristy collections meet minimum standards for documenation, inventory, storage and preservation in order for national compliance to set standards, policy, guidelines and legislation relating thereto.


The umbrella Heritage Committee is chaired by the Registrar of the University, Prof Nick Grove, and is divided into eight sub-committees from all the different faculties of the University. These sub-committees govern different aspects of the collections at the University. Any queries can be directed at the UPArts at 012 420 5450.


The Art Committee

The Art Committee was formed as early as 1960 and became part of the Heritage Committee with its formation. The Art Committee has two mandates. 

A. To ensure the quality of Art bought by the University and its departments and displayed on all the campuses. To fulfill this mandate the Art Committee is responsible for all acquisitions of artworks on campus; it includes all artworks, even those bought by Departments and Schools.

B. To manage inventories of the UP-Art Collection as well as the Christo Coetzee Collection . With this management responsibility comes the acquiring of artworks by purchase, donation or bequest.


To apply for approval for the purchase of Artworks contact:

[email protected]

012 420 5450


UP Archive Committee

The Archive Committee looks after the History of the University of Pretoria and they largely govern original documentation on campus. The UP Archive is a repository for these documents and the committee is chaired by Prof Karin Harris. The Archive is the only entity on campus that can decide whether original documentation can be destroyed or not. The access to Information Act forbids the destruction of original documents so it would be wise to contact the archive on tel. 420 2123 before cleaning out that storeroom and destroying vital information.


Documents Collection Committee

The Documents Collection Committee is chaired by Mr. Robert Moropa, the Director of the Library Service. This Committee governs:

1.         Africana collections of the Library

2.         Architectural collections         

3.         The sheet music collection           

4.         Mimi Coertze Collection      

5.         The Dutch Cultural Historical Institute        

6.         The Art Archive           

Natural Sciences Collections

The Natural Sciences Collections Committee, chaired by Me Rudi Horak of Sci-Enza, is one of the largest clusters of collections on the campus. The Committee incorporates all the collections maintained by Natural Science Departments across campus and has the difficult task of keeping these collections within the parameters of the South African Law. The various collections that form part of this Committee are:


1.         HGJW Schweickerdt Herbarium with 120 000 samples of plants.

2.         The Cycad and botanical gardens collection

3.         The Insect collection

4.         The Animal skeleton collection

5.         Van Wyk wood collection

6.         The Geology Collection


Museum Committee

The UP Arts Museum Committee is chaired by Sian Tiley-Nel, Museum Manager and Curator of the Mapungubwe Collection. The Museum Committee is tasked with governing and curating the museum collections, which comprise of fifty-two other diverse collections of the University of Pretoria.


Human Sciences Collections Committee

The Hunan Sciences Collections Committee is chaired by Ms Hilda Kriel, from the Library services. The Committee governs collections of objects from the Human Sciences. These Collections include:

1.                   Archaeological collections

2.                   Kya Rosa collection

3.                   Velcich anthropological collection

4.                   Gawie S Nienaber Collection

5.                   Africana objects collection

6.                   Collections of the residences and the SRC.


Onderstepoort Committee

The Onderstepoort Committee is chaired by Dr van Dam. During many years of research on the veterinary campus of the University several unique collections of equipment, anatomy and study documents were brought together. This committee governs the future of these collections.


Medical Sciences Committee

This is the latest of the committees and is tasked with the governing and the management of legal requirements concerning the collections of skeletal remains and the WG de Haas Anatomy collection. Smaller collections like the Tooth and Mouth Clinics instruments collection and smaller collections of the same nature will also be managed by this Committee


Advisory Services available

The Department of UP Arts was initiated in 2008 as a unit for the performing, visual arts, museums and heritage collections at the Univeristy. If any advice is needed on Collections Management, Conservation or any other collections based questions, don’t hesitate to call the Department of UP Arts, at telephone number 420 5450 and we will be able to assist or direct your enquiry.

- Author Nicole Hoffmann
Share this page
Last edited by Nicole HoffmannEdit