Email us



2013 TuksSport Awards

Jacques van Zyl (Judo) and Nobuhle Dlamini (Golf) took top honours at the TuksSport Colours and Awards Function held in Pretoria on Friday, 18 October 2013. A total of 460 Tukkie athletes and officials were honoured.

Star judoka Van Zyl is an exceptional athlete. He became the first ever South African to be selected for participation at the World Masters Judo Championship this year. He was also one of two judokas to have ever won the Africa Senior Championships Title that took place in 2013. Jacques is well positioned to reach the pinnacle of his career at the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

Dlamini has dominated the local amateur golf circuit this year, her achievements have secured her the number one senior ranking in South Africa, as well as being ranked third in the World Amateur rankings.

At the World Student Games TuksSport clubs and the University of Pretoria contributed 28 athletes and 1 coach, across the various sporting codes, to Team SA. Notable performances by University of Pretoria students include Guilio Zorzi (Swimming, Gold), Maryke Oberholzer (Athletics, Bronze) and Jacques De Swardt, Pieter Conradie, PC Beneke, Anneri Ebersohn (Athletics 4x400 Relay, Bronze medal).

Mr Kobus Van der Walt, Director of TuksSport said the University of Pretoria has once again been blessed with a year of extraordinary sporting excellence. Highlights of a year in which TuksSport achieved consistently in no less than 26 sporting codes, were:

  • 108 National representatives of whom 2 represented Botswana, 1 Namibia, 1 Swaziland, 1 Zimbabwe and 2 Zambia.
  • 13 Coaches and team managers officially accompanying senior national teams to international competitions
  • 8 National Federation team members of which 2 represented Zimbabwe.
  • 65 National age group team members of which 1 represented Namibia, including 8 Coaches and 1 Manager
  • 34 Students were members of National University Sport South Africa (USSA) teams of which 2 were coaches and 1 a manager.
  • 26 students were members of other National Student teams including 5 officials
  • Most of the above as well as a further 206 Tukkies (including 12 officials) obtained senior provincial colours. 
  • TuksAthletics won USSA as well as Varsity Athletics.
  • TuksRowing (men’s VIII) won the USSA Boat Race for the 5th year running.
  • TuksHockey (women) won USSA.
  • TuksRugby won the Varsity Cup for the second year in a row. The Young Guns (u.20) also retained their championship title.
  • TuksGolf won USSA as well as the University of St Andrews 600th Anniversary Invitational in Scotland.
  • TuksCricket won Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) National Club Champions (second year in a row), the Northerns Cricket Union (NCU) Premier League Championship (third year in a row & unbeaten in 66 matches), the NCU Knock-Out Competition (fourth year in a row), and the NCU T20 Club Competition.


Student Sports Administrator of the Year: Andrea van Rooyen (Aquatics)  Administrator’s Award: Eddie Meiring (Judo) Principal's Award: Exceptional student (both academics and sport): Senade Haupt (Squash)
Principal's Award: Team Performance: Rugby Coach of the Year – Individual sport: Nikola Filipov (Judo) Coach of the Year – Team sport: Pierre de Bruyn (Cricket)
Student Sport Club of the Year: Shared by Football and Netball Sports Team of the Year: Athletics Sport Club of the Year: Cricket
Student Sportswoman of the Year: Vanes-Mari du Toit (Netball) Student Sportsman of the Year: David Hunt (Rowing) Sportswoman of the Year: Nobuhle Dlamimi (Golf)
Sportsman of the Year: Jacques van Zyl (Judo)














Share this page
Last edited by Leonore JordaanEdit