Email us



2014 TuksSport Colours and Awards Function

James Thompson & John Smith (Rowing) and Lee-Ann Persse & Naydene Smith (Rowing) took top honours at the TuksSport Colours and Awards Function held in Pretoria on Friday, 17 October 2014 where a total of 478 Tuks athletes and officials were honoured.

At the Rowing World Championships in Amsterdam, James and Johan pulled out all the stops. They raced to a gold medal finish in the men’s lightweight double sculls and set a new world best time.  What was even more significant was that this achievement means that James has won a medal in every major international regatta.

After an injury set-back, where Lee-Ann had to undergo a hip Labrum repair, Lee-Ann and Naydene  competed at their first International Regatta in June, the 3rd World Cup in Lucerne where they finished 4th. At the World Championships in Amsterdam they placed 6th in the A final.

At the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland Tuks athletes won a total of eleven medals; Zack Piontek won gold in judo, Cornel Fredericks won gold in the 400m men’s hurdles, Cameron van der Burgh won gold in the 50m breaststroke, silver in the 100m breaststroke and bronze in the 4 x 100m medley relay, Ruan-Tobie Snyman won silver in judo, Roland Schoeman won silver in the men’s 50m butterfly and men’s 4 x 100m freestyle relay, Caydon Müller also won silver in the men’s 4 x 100m freestyle relay, Kate Roberts won silver in the mixed team triathlon relay and Jacques van Zyl won bronze in judo.

Mr Kobus van der Walt, Director of TuksSport said the University of Pretoria has experienced another remarkable year. Highlights of a year in which TuksSport achieved consistently in no less than 33 sporting codes, were:

  • 142 National representatives of whom 6 represented Botswana, Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
  • 16 Coaches and team managers officially accompanying senior national teams to international competitions,
  • 35 National Federation team members.
  • 35 National age group team members.
  • 14 Students were members of National University Sport South Africa (USSA) teams along with 1 coach.
  • 5 students were members of other National Student teams including 3 officials.
  • Most of the above as well as a further 227 Tukkies (including 13 officials) obtained senior provincial colours. 
  • TuksAthletics won USSA as well as Varsity Athletics for the second year in a row.
  • TuksFootball won Varsity Football for the second year in a row.
  • TuksRowing (men’s VIII) won the USSA Boat Race for the 6th year running.
  • TuksRugby won the Carlton Cup and USSA.
  • TuksGolf won USSA.
  • TuksCricket won Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) National Club Champions, the Northerns Cricket Union (NCU) Premier League Championship, the NCU Knock-Out Competition, the NCU T20 Club Competition, the Red Bull Campus Cricket South African Final and the Red Bull Campus Cricket World Final.


Student Sports Administrator of the Year: Xabiso Sicwebu (SSC) Administrator’s Award: Martie Savrda (Wrestling) Principal’s Award for Exceptional Performance in both Academics and Sport: Melissa Myburgh (Netball)
Coach of the Year – Individual sport: Nikola Filipov (Judo) Coach of the Year – Team sport: Pierre de Bruyn (Cricket) Student Sport Club of the Year: Rowing
Sports Team of the Year: Assupol Tuks 1 (Cricket) Sport Club of the Year: Cricket Student Sportswoman of the Year: Lenize Potgieter (Netball)
Student Sportsman of the Year: Akani Simbine (Athletics) Sportswoman of the Year: Lee-Ann Persse & Naydene Smith (Rowing) Sportsman of the Year: James Thompson & John Smith (Rowing)

Share this page
Last edited by Leonore JordaanEdit