Email us

CCMA and bargaining council enlighten Labour Relations class
19 September 2016
On 12 September 2016 the BCom Hons (Human Resource Management) students had the opportunity to engage with a Commissioner from the Commission for Conciliation, Mediation and Arbitration (CCMA) and the Chief Administrative Officer of a bargaining council. These guest speakers were invited to enlighten the students about dispute resolution and collective bargaining, which form part of the syllabus of the Labour Relations module.
Ms Elsabe Mare (CCMA Commissioner) gave a talk on the CCMA structure and objectives, as well as its statutory dispute resolution functions. She also gave examples of common mistakes made by parties when they approach the CCMA, as well as some background on fascinating and sometimes hilarious disputes they had to deal with.
Ms Monica Basilio, Chief Administrative Officer of the Bargaining Council for the Food Retail, Restaurant, Catering and Allied Trades (BCFRCAT), addressed the students on bargaining councils in general with specific reference to the BCFRCAT. She explained the concept of centralised bargaining and the benefits for the employer and employee parties to the council.
Even though the CCMA and bargaining councils have similar roles with regard to dispute resolution, it was made clear to the students that bargaining councils play a major role in establishing conditions of service in a specific industry, which culminates in the signing of a main agreement for that industry by the parties to the council.
The students participated actively in the question and answer sessions after the lectures and it was clear that the theory now has a practical application.
Mr Renaldo Naude (student), Ms Eunice Mwabi (student), Ms Monica Basilio (Chief Administrative Officer of BCFRCAT), Dr Paul Smit (Senior Lecturer in the Department of Human Resource Management), Ms Elsabe Mare (CCMA Commissioner), Ms Ciska Marx (student), and Mr Jerome De Sousa (student)
- Author Department of Human Resource Management
Share this page
Last edited by Liesl OosthuizenEdit
Mr ​Renaldo Naude, Ms Eunice Mwabi, Ms Monica Basilio, Dr Paul Smit, Ms Elsabe Mare, Ms Ciska Marx and Mr Jerome De Sousa