Email us


Research Chairs

SARB Chair

The South African Reserve Bank Chair in Monetary Economics was instituted in 2007 to promote advanced teaching and research in Monetary Economics. In 2012 the agreement between the University of Pretoria and the South African Reserve Bank (SARB) was renewed and more emphasis was given to research promotion, research collaboration and supervision of student research at honours, master’s and PhD level. Today the Chair is working closely with the Research Department at the SARB to identify research themes relevant to national policy making, to organise annual national workshops on monetary economics and macroeconomic modelling, and to supervise student research. In 2013 the Chair supervised the completion of 3 honours research projects, 10 master’s research dissertations and 1 PhD thesis. The Chair appointed 2 SARB Chair PhD fellows at the beginning of 2013. They have completed the first phase of their research. The first working papers have been presented at the 2013 ESSA conference, and they have been accepted to present to international conference participants in 2014. The collaboration with SARB staff is increasing steadily and new avenues of research are explored successfully. The Chair has also promoted visits of leading international scholars. These scholars come to South Africa, particularly Pretoria, to work on research and provide workshops attended by a large contingent of SARB researchers, as well as other researchers from universities in South Africa.
The SARB Chair in Monetary Economics gives a positive and essential contribution to the country’s macroeconomic research and to the research foundations of policy making in South Africa. The year 2014 will see an expansion of the research activities of the Chair, with one more research fellow to start in February and an exciting program of workshops and research to be implemented.

SARChI chair of Tax Policy and Governance

SARChI Chair of International Development Law and African Economic Relations


Share this page
Last edited by Liesl OosthuizenEdit