Email us


ASLP 2017

Twenty - two outstanding scientists from all major regions in Africa will participate in the third round of the Africa Science Leadership Programme (ASLP). The scientists represent basic and applied sciences, and span a wide variety of disciplines including the social sciences and humanities.

The programme commences on 22 March with a week-long workshop on ‘Leading a new paradigm for African Science.


The 2017 ASLP Fellows

Cindy George Scientist, South African Medical Research Council, South Africa
Dalia Saad Postdoctoral Researcher, Institute for Gender Studies, University of South Africa, South Africa/Sudan 
Hamada Abdelrahman

Assistant Professor of Soil Science, Department of Soil Science, Cairo University, Egypt

Pauline Ngimwa Programme Manager, Partnership for African Social and Governance Research, Kenya
Patience Mutopo

Senior Lecturer, Centre for Development Studies, Chinhoyi University of Technology, Zimbabwe

Sunny Abarikwu

Senior Lecturer, Department of Biochemistry, University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria

Elias Matinde Senior Lecturer, School of Chemical and Metallurgical Engineering, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa/Zimabawe
Rene English Director, Health Systems Research Unit, South Africa
Chipo Mubaya

International Collaborations Manager/Senior Lecturer, Chinhoyi University of Technology, Zimbabwe

Emmanuel Odjadjare

Senior Lecturer, Department of Basic Sciences, Benson Idahosa University, Nigeria

George Ayodo Senior Lecturer, School of Health Sciences at Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology, Kenya
Samson Khene

Senior Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, Rhodes University, South Africa

Akusa Mawa

Senior Research Officer, Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda 

Gladness Temu Lecturer, Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Ayodele Morakinyo Senior Lecturer, Department of Physiology, College of Medicine, University of Lagos, Nigeria
Thierry Hoareau Senior Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Genetics, University of Pretoria, South Africa
Marian Quain Principal Research Scientist, Head of Biotechnology Seed and Post Harvest Division, CSIR Crops Research Institute, Ghana 
Barbara Burmen

Senior Research Officer, Kenya Medical Research Institute, Center for Global Health Research, Kenya

Yvonne Ngwa Senior Lecturer, Department of English, Higher Teacher Training School, Cameroon
David Dodoo-Arhin Senior Lecturer, Institute of Applied Science and Technology, College of Basic and Applied Science, University of Ghana, Ghana
Abebayehu Mekonnen  Assistant Professor of Linguistics, Department of Linguistics, Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia 




- Author Smeetha Singh
Share this page
Last edited by Bernard SlippersEdit