E-pos ons


Teologie eeufees tydlyn

1889   ZAR government proposes a University in Pretoria with three faculties:  Arts, Law and Theology – Nederduitsch Hervormde Kerk (NHKA) approached in this regard

Transvaal Technical Institute changes its name to Transvaal University College Pretoria (TUC)

Professor AC Paterson, one of the first four lecturers appointed

Plea by some Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk (NGK) ministers to establish a theological faculty at UP went unheeded
1917   Faculty of Theology established by Nederduitsch Hervormde Kerk (NHKA) and the Presbyterian Church of South Africa (PCSA) – first theological faculty in South Africa (Dr JHJA Greyvenstein and Rev. E MacMillan). Professor Paterson acts as third lecturer for Old Testament subjects
1921   Dr SP Engelbrecht becomes fourth lecturer
1924   JHJA Greyvenstein: first Dean (1924–1926)
1927–1928    Faculty survived an attempt by a commission of Minister DF Malan to absorb Theology into other faculties
1930   The TUC becomes the University of Pretoria (10 October)
1937   Proponent Ben Marais becomes the student minister of the Nederduits Hervormde of Gereformeerde Kerk     
1938   Nederduitse Hervormde of Gereformeerde Kerk (NH of G Kerk) joins University of Pretoria 16 March and forms Section B of the Faculty. The NHKA was Section A of the Faculty.  
1948   Ds CFB Naudé becomes student minister for NGK students
1960   Professor AS Geyser of Section A of the Faculty co-published Delayed Action (‘Vertraade Aksie’), a Christian criticism against apartheid
1966   Deptartment of Practical Theology established as separate department
1979   Institute of Missiological and Ecumenical Research (IMER) established
1981   Yolanda Dreyer becomes the first ordained female minister in the Afrikaans churches

DRC Centre for Continued Theological Training (CCTT) established; Professor M Nel: Director 

Theology building officially handed over to the Faculty


Dr Hara (Malawi), first black student to receive a doctorate in Theology

Seven female students registered

1996   PJ Meiring appointed to Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC)

1 January: NGK and NHKA merged to form a multi-ecclesial Faculty

Hervormde Teologiese Kollege established / agreement

CJA Vos: Dean (2000–2009)

2001   Desmond Tutu chair conceptualised in collaboration with the University of the Western Cape and the University of Dar-es-Salaam

Uniting Presbyterian Church of Southern Africa (UPCSA) becomes a Faculty partner

Centre for Contextual Ministry relocated from Vista University to UP

2010   J Buitendag: Dean (2010–current)
2012   URCSA joins Faculty as a partner
2017   Faculty celebrates Centenary

Deel hierdie blad
Geredigeer deur Judith FourieEdit